Update: Where in the World Have I Been?

As I mentioned in my previous blog, life has been a little crazy as of late and will only continue to get crazier as the Holidays approach.  Those of you that have been following this blog since the beginning may remember my post earlier this year about our current foster child. You can read it here.

So, here we are a few days shy of this child being with us for six months already! Some days it feels like the time has flown by as I think back on all we’ve been through in these last six months, then other times it feels like it’s been the longest six months ever! Maybe that is in part due to the fact that I have had to stay home with him day after day. (I commend you stay at home mom’s)!  I don’t know how you do it and remain sane! I used to think it would be so great to be a stay at home mom, but maybe that is better suited for school age kids.

It is still unclear what the future holds for this little guy. My husband and I have been asked some tough questions lately as we plan for the worst, but hope for the best (whatever that may be). My prayer as of late has been that whatever the judge decides next month would be in the child’s best interest, and not just what is more convenient for everyone else. I had an interesting conversation with our case worker last night (he’s been doing this for 20 years) and said that this has been the craziest case he’s ever been on!

Every time I talk with a case worker or DCS worker we always come away with more questions than answers it seems.  We have court again next month, the week before Christmas, hopefully that will give us a little more clarity in the situation as we move forward.

I know this post is very vague, and may seem a little confusing, but there is only so much I can share.

So, just a few ways you can be praying for us as we wait:

  1. Pray for patience.
  2. For wisdom and clarity in decisions that will be made by all parties involved in this case, that they will be in the child’s best interest.
  3. For the bio-family.
  4. For our foster son and the impact all of this is having on him that we may not even realize.
  5. For my sanity to return, I’ve been a little “out of it” the past few days, i.e.; attempting to put milk in med cabinet and meds in fridge, putting boxes of cereal in fridge, basically misplacing everything.

I joke that by the time all of this is over I’m going to need a straight jacket, a padded room, and a helmet that sparkles!

Leave a Reply

